test results

Saturday, May. 27, 2017, 12:43 AM

some good recent developments.

i went to the doctor's office wednesday to get my physical. the doctor's assistant took my vitals first. my blood pressure is down to practically ideal levels. my blood pressure rang in at 114/80. i need to get the bottom number down more but that's not bad after 45 days of copious sweating and veganism. it was 124/88 on the first of may if i remember correctly. craziness. but 114/80 is practically ideal. i'm happy about that.

the nurse also mentioned that i lost a lot of weight since my last weigh-in back in feb. she asked if i wanted to know how much i've lost. i told her no. numbers on the scale really don't matter to me since i haven't met my goal of being in a size medium. i don't want to be discouraged by hearing a number and not being happy with it. if i had to guess i've lost about 15-20 pounds since i started my 100-day challenge.

the doctor finally came in the exam room and i told her about my new adventure in veganism and exercise. she was elated that i was getting results. she said that i inspired her. i showed her my 30-day pic results and she was amazed. the pics that i take periodically are keeping me motivated. i notice how things are fitting differently. even better. i still have a long way to go. i lose weight off my lower half first before i lose weight anywhere else. my lower half isn't an issue like my torso. but i can only work with the hand i've been dealt. i really think that if i keep up the work and the veganism that i can get back into a size 8 by the end of my 100-day challenge.

i took pics again today of me SQUEEZED into a pair of size 10 jeans. there is a difference from today and when i took pics 2 weeks ago. they fit better. i still wouldn't wear them in public but they look a lot better. i just gotta keep going. i'm going to take a few more pics as time goes to gauge my progress. i'm glad someone suggested doing that because it's helping me tremendously. i'm not dealing with scales or tape measures. it's just way too much pressure and quite honestly, it causes me to lose focus of my goal. chasing numbers is fleeting. i'm chasing a size. maybe it's my own mental game.

what i really want to do hit some weights. i'm going to wait until the benefits kick in at my new job. they offer gym reimbursement so i'm all for it.

i got the rest of my results on friday.

total cholesterol = 204...should be under 200
LDL = 140. down 2 more points but still needs to be under 130.
triglycerides = 67 which is great because it needs to be under 157
good cholesterol = 51 which is also good because it needs to be over 46. i need to get it higher.
cholesterol ratio = 4.0 which is "decent" she said that if it was at 4.5 that it's at a high risk of heart disease and medication would be required.
blood sugar = 82 which is also good because it needs to be between 65 and 99. i was concerned it was a tad high because i hadn't eaten in over 12 hrs...more like 15-18 hrs. she said it wasn't bad at all. nothing to be concerned about.

so i'm disappointed that my cholesterol is higher than i expected but this shows that i'm being proactive in tackling an issue that could be problematic in the future if not confronted now. especially since it's taking so long to get it back down to normal.

i need to raise my good cholesterol to lower my ratio and stop cooking with so much oil. i actually want to invest in an air fryer. you only need about a tablespoon of oil to cook various foods. they are just expensive as all get out. i'll see if i can find a good sale coming up for the holiday.

� previous entry next entry �

back to index

test 3 - Thursday, Jun. 06, 2019
43 birthdays - Sunday, Apr. 07, 2019
just checking in - Wednesday, Mar. 27, 2019
happy valentine's 2019 - Thursday, Feb. 14, 2019
untouchable - Wednesday, Feb. 13, 2019