Tucson: first impressions

Saturday, Jan. 28, 2023, 9:34 AM

I got in last night. I had the best sleep I've had in years. I decided that I must have that bed. I checked the label and it's a company that supplies hotels. 🤦🏾‍♀️

I picked up my car this morning and the agent gave me an upgrade from a Corolla to a Camry. It's a nice car. If they make an electric version in the future I may consider it.

First impressions, my friend is right about the lack of diversity. Since I've landed, I have only seen one other black person. He greeted me because I had my Jamaica purse and for a hot minute I could tell he thought he wasn't alone. Dashed his hopes, poor thing.

My friend was also right that Tucson really hasn't invested a lot into it's infrastructure. It appears more like an old town versus a city. A good portion of the homes have solar paneling, however, the homes don't look modern. It very well could be that I'm not used to seeing the number of cactus is such large quantities and varieties. On top of that, this is my first time in the desert. It's an adjustment. It's still cold just like home which I didn't really expect. The highlight so far is that I found a vegan Mexican restaurant. I'm eating chilequiles as I type. I'm going to order tamales to have for breakfast tomorrow morning and I doubt I'll be back this way again.

I thought I would feel a connection by now. A feeling that would confirm that I belong here. So far nothing. I feel more disappointment than anything. Just a veil of sadness.

Hopefully things change as I type the city. I have about 12 more hours with this car.

I'll update later.

� previous entry next entry �

back to index

pregaming - Saturday, Apr. 01, 2023
so i figured it out - Thursday, Feb. 23, 2023
forget me - Wednesday, Feb. 22, 2023
i need an adult - Wednesday, Feb. 08, 2023
Walk by faith and not by sight - Saturday, Jan. 28, 2023