a few days in my life

Sunday, Jul. 30, 2023, 6:28 PM

so much has happened.

i had a non-evasive surgery to deal with the fibroids. this surgery requires no incisions. the doctor takes an instrument through the cervix, probes the fibroid and heats it to 120F causing it to die off in about 3 months. the procedure went smoothly with no problems. after 2 myomectomies, i really didn't know what to ask and i dismissed the "things to know" that was provided prior to the surgery. i felt sluggish inside and out after the first day. i called the doc after a few days and i assured me everything that i'm feeling is normal and as long as i'm not having a fever nor heavy bleeding things are fine. i reread the documentation and it said it would be best to take a stool softener. i had been constipated for about 3 days and now i read this. i take a tea that i have to help move things along but it takes overnight to work.

no soon as i disconnect from the doc, i get a chill and rush under the covers on the couch. i wake up about 5 hrs later and i can barely move. i muster up the energy to get up to get in my bed and all hell breaks loose. as soon as i pull back the blanket my body starts shaking uncontrollably with chills. i immediately knew i was running a fever and all i could hear was the doctor's words "as long as you aren't running a fever you're fine". tiffany ran through my tylenol but left me her hydrocodone. so now i need to ubereats tylenol - $18. i take it and take my temp. my temp is 103F. i've never ran a temp that high. i call the doc as instructed and the oncall nurse wasn't even remotely alarmed. she said that it's my body reacting to the necrosis of the fibroids and to alternate between tylenol and ibuprofen to help bring down the fever and to call the doc in the morning.

i didn't sleep well at all as you can imagine. i would roll over periodically and take my temp. at one point it got as high as 104F. as a temp that high, i still have to talk myself into calling in sick. my mind isn't working correctly and i try leaving messages for nat and my sup for the right number for the attendance line right before 6am. the tea that i drank has started to work. i relieve my constipation and immediately vomit right after. i take more pills but the fever isn't budging. once my thoughts are working properly, i realize that i have the right number and i need to choose the right options.

i ended up calling the doc's office after they opened at 9am and i leave a message with all my symptoms. they call me back after 10 to confirm my symptoms that i mentioned on the voicemail. *facepalm* they call me back closer to 11am saying that i should go to the ER since i've had a high fever for so long. there was no way i was going to the ER after i just got it to break at 100F. after a couple of hours, my temp was back down to 98.6. if they really wanted me to go to the ER they should have said that at midnight. i would have gladly gone but i'll be damned if i have to pay an ER bill all for them to tell me my temp has normalized and i can go home.

my main concern is i started my period that same day and a week early. it lasted longer than normal but i think today is the last day i have to deal with it. i have no doubt i've been fighting an infection and my period is showing the effects of it.

when i got back to work on monday, i noticed a message from a lady named paula in the fraud dept. she said there is a new posting available and she would like me to apply. i've been asking about this dept for a while now but have been sorta discouraged by what others have said. i remember listening to shonda rhimes' book "the year of yes". say yes to everything to see what happens. monday i didn't do anything but on tuesday i asked my sup about the position. she told me i'd be a perfect fit and to apply and she would approve her portion immediately. i submitted my resume and started the waiting game. a few days later my application was denied. i reached out to paula to let her know the news and she said not to worry. a couple of people in that dept really like my calls and want me in that dept and to reapply as soon as they post the position again. she sends me another message a few hours later stating that there was a mistake with a requirement in the posting which caused anyone from my dept to be declined automatically. that made me feel better immediately. she said to reapply when they repost it. i'm going to do it because i've been feeling discontent lately and i need more money. i'm living check to check. in this new position, i'm going to ask for $10 more and i'll see where my prayers fall.

another fun fact, i went to get in the shower during lunch on friday and i was inconveniently notified that my water heater gave up the ghost. it's been in the back of my mind for a while now that it can't last forever. the water heater has been in the house since it was built in 97. now it goes out. it's been an interesting few days taking a cold shower. i see people say taking a cold shower is invigorating and good for the memory, etc. i will definitely say it's invigorating but it's intolerable. i can't wait til i get this water heater replaced. it could very well be another week.

someone i know sent me a video of candace owens talking about the covid vaccine. she proclaimed she knows nothing of candace owens nor her political beliefs (which i heavily doubt because if you didn't know why would you mention it). just seeing candace owens, not to mention her rants, drives me up the wall. the person said that a broken clock is right twice a day and that the vaccines are dangerous and that she doesn't know if i've gotten the vaccine but the video is just confirmation of what God told her and others. and here is where the red flags appear. she said, "oh you were the one God that talked about." when i inquired by what she meant by that, she said God told her that one person on her list she sent the video would be offended. shady, right? i know God told me to get the vaccine and now she's on my red flag list. i feel like i need to cut her off. that's what i will do. i'm going to block her.

my friend told me that she no longer believes in Christ and that if she has to label it, she would label herself agnostic or agnostic athiest (which is an oxymoron). my heart dropped. i wanted to ask her what caused the change but i didn't want to interrupt her vacation. i'll keep her on my prayer list anyway.

� previous entry next entry �

back to index

the ramblings of an older woman - Sunday, Feb. 11, 2024
happy new year 2024!! and a couple of revelations - Sunday, Feb. 04, 2024
47 and a half - Saturday, Oct. 07, 2023
a new development in this life. - Sunday, Oct. 01, 2023
the irs and another dream. - Friday, Sept. 29, 2023